Posted by: vmlay | October 19, 2009

It’s Monday! What are you Reading?

This is hosted over on J. Kaye’s Book Blog.

Books completed this week:

The Chocolate Cupid Killings by JoAnna Carl – As always I enjoy this series — it’s fun, it’s about chocolate and I like the quirky characters!   An excellent cozy mystery series.

Wake by Lisa McMann — this looked intriquing, about a 17 year old who gets sucked into other peoples dreams.  I didn’t expect to enjoy this as much as I did, I was fascinated and zipped through the book.  Very well done!

Rampant by Diana Peterfruend — also a YA novel (like Wake above) about a young girl who trains as a unicorn hunter.  I really liked the main character in this novel and the story was interesting.  I read this one a bit slower to enjoy the historical/scientific apsects that really round out the story.  I’m hoping there will be a second book.

Ghastly Glass by Joye and Jim Lavene –  this is the third book in the mystery series which is set at a Renaissance Faire.  It’s fun, it’s quirky and I really enjoy each book.  Sometimes the main character, Jessie Morton, annoys me by being very naive or dense (depending on how you look at it) but it’s still a fun read.

Books I Started but Didn’t Finish:

Silver Lies by Ann Parker — a historical mystery set in 1879 that I started and then didn’t finish.  It just didn’t hold my interest at all.

Books I am currently reading:

Soulless by Gail Carriger – a novel of vampires, werewolves and parasols — how fun does that sound!  I’ve only just started but I love Alexia Tarabotti, she’s a great character!

Up Next:

Fade by Lisa McMann – I am looking forward to seeing what happens next!

As You Wish by Jackson Pearce — “a magical tale about star-crossed lovers, what it means to belong . .. and how important it is to be careful what you wish for.”

Responses

  1. I loved Rampant, Lisa McMann’s Dream Catcher series and Gail Carriger is just delicious. I can’t wait for the next books from all three authors!

    Enjoy your reading this week!

    WRUR: http://wp.me/pBVdc-7p

  2. I am not reading anything right now. Life is too crazy:-(

  3. I love it when people say a book didn’t hold their interest. Seriously…that really helps…honesty in a review! Thanks!

  4. I can’t believe how many books you can read in a week!

    I just set a book to the side this week too. After three weeks of trying, I just gave up.

    I love cozy mysteries. They’re pretty new to me but I’m taking notes from what you’ve said here!

  5. I enjoy cozy mysteries and this one sounds good. I need to add it to my want to read list.
    That magic house looks like so much fun. We have something like that near our house–The Creative Discovery Museum. My kids loved it when they were younger.

  6. You listed some great books for me to check in to. Always looking for new-to-me authors! Have a great reading week!

  7. I wonder if the title for As You Wish comes from The Princess Bride and Wesley. ::swoon::

  8. Great list…the only one I have heard of is Soulless…

    When my children were young they loved those ‘hands’on’ discovery centers…Science centers too..ah good memories :)

    Enjoy!

    Debra

  9. Hi, Marie –

    Thanks for stopping by Book By Book again! I haven’t been able to do much blog visiting myself lately while I’ve been sick. Funny, you were the second person today to visit my blog and mention that you also live with chronic illness. I think there are more of us around than we often realize!

    I don’t know what illness you’re dealing with, but I’m sorry to hear you’re dealing with these challenges, too. I have an immune system disorder known by the unfortunate name of Chronic Fatigue Syndrome. All these nasty viruses circulating this fall have my over-active immune system going bonkers! If you want to know more or want to commiserate a bit, feel free to visit my blog about living with chronic illness.

    Oh, and I loved Wake and Fade – glad to see you’re reading Fade this week. Enjoy your books, and I hope you’re feeling better soon from this flare-up!

    Sue

  10. You had a great reading week! Wake sounds really interesting.

  11. I’m glad to hear Ghastly Glass by Joye and Jim Lavene. I have the first waiting to be read…I’ll have to bump it up.

    I’ve been kind of holding off until I have more of the series before I read any of JoAnna Carl’s books, but maybe I should just start and gather the books as I go. I’ve heard such great things about it (the series in general).

    • That’s supposed to say I’m glad to hear Ghastly Glass is fun. Not just that it is. These things really need an edit function.

  12. I love Joanna Carl’s cozies. I’ve read a couple of her books out of order. Would like to read the whole series.

    http://readwithtea.blogspot.com/2009/10/what-are-you-reading-on-mondays.html

  13. Gosh I used to read so many books! Now I can barely get through 3 in a month!

  14. Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment. Glad to know someone else understands my love for Little Debbies!

    Love the cat picture on your banner!

    Blessings.

  15. I’m reading Captain Underpants…. :P

  16. Vampires, werewolves and parasols . . . oh my. Soulless sounds like it has it all, I am very intrigued.

  17. I think that Fade was better than the first book…which surprised me. :)

  18. Wow, you read a lot! I’m amazed that you can accomplish that. I am on my third book in about 5 weeks and I thought I was doing pretty well. You are smokin’ me, lol.

    I have not read any of those you listed. Thanks for the review!

  19. Wow that’s amazing that you could read all those in a week. I’m lucky if i read one a month. Some of those sound good, I never heard of the cozy mysteries. I’ll have to look into that.

  20. Sounds like some great books. I wish I had more time to read.

  21. The chocolate cupid killings sounds good.

  22. I LOVED Wake and will be readin Fade soon. I also really want to get a copy of Rampant. I’m glad to hear you liked it!

    Soulless is also on my radar =)


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

