Posted by: vmlay | October 23, 2008

The Cookie Thief

Alex asked me last night if she could have a snack.  I said sure, she could have two cookies which is our standard amount of cookies for a snack.  She went to the pantry to get them while I was sitting on the couch reading.  I was thinking it was taking her an awful long time just to get a couple cookies but then she walked past me towards her room.  But she was walking funny — with both hands tucked against her stomach and angled away from me.  Hmm, what’s going on here?!

“How many cookies do you have Alex?”

She stops but doesn’t turn around.

“Three.”

“You’re only supposed to get two right?”

She thinks for a brief moment, then turns and smiles at me.

“Yes, but one of them is for you!”

“Oh, then why are you taking it to your room?”

Another brief pause and then she lights up, she has an explanation!

“I was going to wrap it for you.”

“I see, that’s really nice of you.  But you don’t have to wrap it, I’ll take it just the way it is.  Thanks!”

She brings me the cookie but I can tell by the slight frown that this didn’t work out the way she had planned.  I’m sure the cookie wrapping would have taken so long that she would have been forced to eat the third cookie to stave off potential starvation!

Leave a Reply

Categories

